Still working on the backlog of tickets. Please bear with me. If you have a licence-ticket that needs urgent attention update it to push it up.

Advice of hardware power

General Discussions
Post Reply
cashell
Passenger
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Dec 2019, 19:07
Status: Offline

Advice of hardware power

Post by cashell » 31 Dec 2019, 14:33

I purchased the Yoke, throttle quadrant, Multi panel and switch panel for my son for Christmas. Although the items are used I have no reason to believe they are faulty and in fact the seller has been very helpful.

The problem is with being able to power all the hardware and how best to test they are all working OK. The Yoke/Throttle quadrant work fine but we get no power to the other panels. The previous owner suggested that one USB connection isn't enough power and said we should buy a 3 x USB PCI card, however, we are running Microsoft Flight Sim (STEAM) from a laptop and so that really isn't an option. We did purchase a power adapter to fit into the Yoke which was adjustable to provide the 5v required but we still cannot get the panels to work.

Does anybody have a suggestion on how to best power all the panels (and future purchases such at rudder pedals) and also how to test that the panels are working OK?

Many thanks for any suggestions!

Hazza
Betatester
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 22:00
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by Hazza » 09 Jan 2020, 21:00

I would suggest buying a mains powered USB 2.0 Hub. It MUST be USB 2.0 not USB 3.0/2.0. Not sure which country you are in but this is the one that I have used (https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/USBMBE ... individual)

Note that there is no mention of USB 3.0 and it is mains powered.
Cheers

Harry

cashell
Passenger
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Dec 2019, 19:07
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by cashell » 09 Jan 2020, 21:08

Thanks Hazza, I didn't see that my first thread had been posted. We are in the UK so will see if I can get one shipped from somewhere. Thanks again and hopefully this solves the issue.

Hazza
Betatester
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 22:00
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by Hazza » 09 Jan 2020, 21:43

No probs. A quick search showed there are plenty of places in the UK where you can source these exact same Hubs from. I run multiple Saitek equipment off mine. 2 x Radio Panels, 1 x Multi (AutoPilot) Panel, 1 x Switch Panel, 2 x Throttle Quadrants, 1 x Yoke, 1 x Rudder Pedals and a TrackIR unit. Handles them all without any issue and I've had the Hub for a couple of years now.
Cheers

Harry

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1702
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by thedazman » 10 Jan 2020, 08:31

Just make sure the power supply for the hub is great or equal to 500 mah per device. So if 4 items make sure it’s 2amp psi or better. Most hub come under powered any 2.0 hub will do as long as the psu is good enough

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

cashell
Passenger
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Dec 2019, 19:07
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by cashell » 13 Jan 2020, 22:11

Hi again, I bought a powered usb hub and it appears to be Ok with regard to power mentioned above but still not getting any power to the 2 panels. Plugged the yoke through it just to check and it powers the screen on that so must be outputting some power. This is the item I bought which says up to 500mah per port with mains connection.

https://cpc.farnell.com/newlink/nlusb2- ... dp/CS16383

If this isn't good enough does anyone have any suggestions for something more powerful? Could the problem be that we are running Microsoft Flight X Steam Edition? Any ways to test the panels are working with any independent power supply?

Any help appreciated.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1702
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by thedazman » Yesterday, 14:57

According the the tech specs of your new hub it’s WAY underpowered. Specs say max 100mah per port and you need 500mah per port and that hub is max 500mah for the entire hub!

As mentioned on the posts above you need a PSU that is rated 500mah per device. For 4 devices you need a 2000mah or 2amp power supply

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1702
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Advice of hardware power

Post by thedazman » Yesterday, 15:08

Sorry might have mis read the tech specs

You might get 500mah on a port with PSU but doesn’t say if you can get 500mah on all ports at the same time.

Your PSU needs to be rated 2a or better, what’s the rating on the PSU?

Also make sure hub is powered BEFORE turning on the computer

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

Post Reply