Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

General Discussions
Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 25 Sep 2019, 14:43

Hello, i'm trying to map the HDG SEL push button to the HDG button of one of the two multipanels that I have. I spent all morning but I failed to do it.
I set the datarefs.txt from datareftool in the airplane folder and now I have both variables "Heading Mode" that has a value of 1 when it's selected and lighted in the cockpit (0 when it's not), and "Hdg Sel Pos" that is 1 when the button is being pressed.
When i try to put an event(Pressed short) to do an action that "changes the data value" the only one that appears is the "hdg Sel Pos", "Hdg Sel" and Hdg Sel Press". I tryed everything with this three variables but I have not a clue why it doesn't work. I cant change the "Heading Mode" to 1.
Now I'm on the demo mode, if I can solve this and map the heading autopilot, Lnav and LVL CHG, i will buy it today.
Any help?

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4933
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by c0nnex » 25 Sep 2019, 15:07

SPAD.neXt will only offer dataref to choose from that are either
- Inlcuded in X-Plane default datarefs.txt
- Included in an aircraft specific datarefs.txt (residing in the directory where the acf-file is)
- know as existing by SPAD.neXt. For the Zibo there are quite some datarefs known, BUT they change the datarefs very very often, and depending on your version of the zibo they might not match. (In the registered Version in curent beta you can edit known datarefs)

If I am not mistaken there should be a Command/Event for changing the Heading mode.

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 25 Sep 2019, 15:27

I can see the variable that I need to change: "Heading Mode" to 1. The problem is that this variable is not shown in the actions menu. The strange thing is that, if I use the data monitor, I can see, when I click on the cockpit the button, that the variable is changing. So I'm sooooo close to get it. But when I use the action to simulate a that button it nothings happends. (hdg Sel Pos => 1) I don't know why.

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 25 Sep 2019, 16:07

Ok, I bought the program. How can I change the a known dataref?

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 25 Sep 2019, 20:06

Is there any documentation I can read to figure out how to do the remaping of the datarefs?

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 26 Sep 2019, 12:19

Ok, with the beta is partially corrected (almost everything for now). Now I', trying to map the lights.

In the data monitor I can see that the variable "Land Lights Ret Left Pos" can have three position (0=off, 1=retracted, 2=retracted and on) BUT...when I try to set an action with that variable is not in the list. Can anyone explain it to me? How is it possible to see it in the data monitor and not in the "Change data value" menu?

I also want to know how to set a known dataref into a variable like "laminar/B738/switch/land_lights_ret_left_pos" (this is the dataref from datareftool).

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4933
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by c0nnex » 26 Sep 2019, 12:41

If it's in the monitor but not in Change Data Value, the dataref is marked readonly by X-Plane.

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4933
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by c0nnex » 26 Sep 2019, 14:52

Dj_Evola wrote:
25 Sep 2019, 20:06
Is there any documentation I can read to figure out how to do the remaping of the datarefs?
To change the known datarefs:

* Goto Settings->Application->Simulation
* Click on the configure Buton for X-Plane
* click on the "Extract Datarefs"
* Open Extraction Directory
* Navigate to the Aircraft's dir (YPecially for the Zibo there are several version. You will need to test which one is the correct one for your version. Unfortunately there is no way to idnetify those in X-Plane :( )
* edit Commands.json to add/change Events/Commands
* edit Datarefs.json to add/change known datarefs

Disposable must be left at "true" for all values.

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 28 Sep 2019, 09:25

I have done so. It's true I have found three zibo folders but now I know the correct one. I tryied to set the "read only" of the variable "retractable_light" to false and now I can see it in the "change value" menu but...I still can't modify it. In the data monitor I can see that if I click on the cockpit the switch, the variable changes, but when I try to do it via the action menu it does not change.
Any clue on what's happening here?

Another question, how I can assign a command? Now Im working only with datarefs. Where are the commands in SPAD.next?

Dj_Evola
Flight Attendant
Posts: 12
Joined: 25 Sep 2019, 11:46
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek Multipanel and Zibo

Post by Dj_Evola » 28 Sep 2019, 10:51

I want to emulate this command: "laminar/B738/switch/land_lights_ret_left_dn" but I can't find it.
P.D. I've done also the commands.txt stuff.

Post Reply