Due to the SPAD.neXt Services being under DDOS-Attacks lately, some counter measures have been taken. Make sure your computer-time is up-to-date (synchronized), else you might not get any updates or are unable download any profiles/snippets

Saitek FID problem

Discussion about Problems.
Forum rules
If you have technical Problem, please open a ticket: https://www.spadnext.com/discover/how-to/get-help.html

Do NOT hijack other people threads, until you have exactly the same problem!
RobSchein
Passenger
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Oct 2019, 03:13
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek FID problem

Post by RobSchein »

Hi,

You may have answered my question up above. I've got a full panel of Saitek instruments/controllers, etc., connected via two 10-port USB 3.0 powered hubs. Whenever I boot the computer (dedicated to a flight sim) and start Spad, I have to disconnect and reconnect each and every individual USB connector from the instruments/controllers to the hubs in order for the system to recognize them. I believe I have changed the computer's USB suspend/wakeup scheme to keep the ports awake with no avail. I'm wondering whether this might be the USB 3.0 incompatibility described above?

Thoughts?
Thanks,
-Rob

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 5170
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek FID problem

Post by c0nnex »

a) FIP are not USB 3.0 compatible
b) make sure youre USB Hub provides at least NumOfFipConnected * 1.0 + OtherDevcies*0.5 + 0.5 Amps of power

The problem description is typical for this.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1757
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: Saitek FID problem

Post by thedazman »

I have a 20 amp power supply on my 12 FIPs split 6 each over two USB2.0 connections. Any thing less and you’ll have problems

As c0nnex states you need 1amp per FIP and you can forget about keeping them alive using USB3.0

It’s also annoying the devices have never been updated to allow for 3.0.

We’ve seen this a million times before (well not a million but you get the drift)

Once you have sufficient power and usb 2.0 hubs they should stop causing you issues.

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
https://fipgauges.com

Locked