SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.50 has been released to public

KeyPress not working

Discussion about Problems.
Forum rules
If you have technical Problem, please open a ticket: https://www.spadnext.com/discover/how-to/get-help.html

Do NOT hijack other people threads, until you have exactly the same problem!
oliver77
Flight Attendant
Posts: 10
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 01:14
Status: Offline

KeyPress not working

Post by oliver77 » 22 Feb 2019, 18:07

Hi all,

I'm trying to configure some buttons on my TPM or Yoke.
I want to sent CRTl+SHIFT+Z or CTRL+SHIFT+d (to activate some actions in FSFlying School PRO) ...

It doesn't work. What ever the key, or the device ...

I've opened a ticket last weekend ... No news ...

Regards,
Oliver.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by thedazman » 23 Feb 2019, 00:11

Are you sending the keys to the specific app or using active app option?

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

oliver77
Flight Attendant
Posts: 10
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 01:14
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by oliver77 » 23 Feb 2019, 00:27

Daz,

I've tried many combos ... if i try to send 'P' to P3Dv4, it doesn't work. Active Windows doesn't work...

Oliver

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by thedazman » 23 Feb 2019, 08:17

Umm that’s very odd. I’ve only had issues sometimes depending on the option selected I’ve found active always works but sometimes directed doesn’t work on some apps.

I would start with a basic test to something like notepad using both direct to notepad and active window.

I assume you are running SPAD and the application you want to control on the same PC?

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

oliver77
Flight Attendant
Posts: 10
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 01:14
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by oliver77 » 23 Feb 2019, 08:59

Yes, all apps are on the same Pc.

I've just tried to send "d" to Notepad++. Success !!!

I will investigate today. Thank you for the basic test !

oliver77
Flight Attendant
Posts: 10
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 01:14
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by oliver77 » 23 Feb 2019, 10:59

So ...

Keypress works. with every apps. Not with P3Dv4.4. I don't have FSX anymore, so i can't do this test ...
Spadnext is v 0.9.6.54.

It was working fine in previous versions ... P3D ? Spadnext ?

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by thedazman » 23 Feb 2019, 15:07

I would also set the key press to at least 250ms as i’ve found SPAD’s default is too quick for some apps to see the key press. It’s possible this is the issue, it’s certainly caused me problems in the past the default 50ms is way too short.

Unfortunately I don’t know anything about flying school or how it interfaces to P3D. If the controls are customisable in flying school try making the controls less complex like a shift 1 or something simple not needing multiple hold keys

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

oliver77
Flight Attendant
Posts: 10
Joined: 31 Jan 2016, 01:14
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by oliver77 » 23 Feb 2019, 16:42

I've already tried to set more than 50ms for keypress. No success.

by the way, Fs flying school (and the keypress needed) is not the problem.(and it's not possible to change the keys...)
Trying to send "B" doesn't work with and it was working before ...

I will try a keyboard card for SIOC ... Wait and see !

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by thedazman » 23 Feb 2019, 19:16

Generally we wouldn’t send keystrokes to P3D as most things are changed by sim commands.

I have to admit I have no further suggestions I’m afraid

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

zkiwi
Captain
Posts: 139
Joined: 10 Oct 2015, 03:52
Status: Offline

Re: KeyPress not working

Post by zkiwi » 23 Feb 2019, 20:37

I just gave it a try in P3D V4 with FS Flying school and allocated CRTl+SHIFT+Z and CTRL+SHIFT+D to a spare throttle quadrant button and it worked fine.

I also use button presses for some yoke buttons that change view settings ( i couldn't find the event name to do it so just went with the button command as i knew those) and they are working fine.

Locked