For PMDG 737 NGXu support the SPAD.neXt Beta 0.9.7 is needed.
An updated LVAR bridge setup with Prepar3d v5 support is available at https://www.spadnext.com/download/SPAD. ... .Setup.zip

FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Discussion about Problems.
Forum rules
If you have technical Problem, please open a ticket: https://www.spadnext.com/discover/how-to/get-help.html

Do NOT hijack other people threads, until you have exactly the same problem!
jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 17:14

Aha! Its all clear now.........I checked the spec on that hub of yours and its only a 5V supply so the consumption amperage is 1:1....
http://www.logilink.eu/media/datasheets/UA0148.pdf
The other weird part is that they don't state the per port maximum power capacity but if you do the math 3.5amps/7ports its only a 500ma per port hub.
That one would definitely get dicey with a few devices plugged in........

David

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 5119
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by c0nnex » 11 Dec 2018, 18:24

Yes that the USB 2.0 specs. 500mA per port max.
As i stated.... FIP draw a lot more than that when they render on the device. (cheap display)

jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 20:12

I did see this one looking around yesterday......20 port @1000ma per port....I dont think they had this one when I bought mine...

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product. ... -_-Product

David

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1743
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by thedazman » 11 Dec 2018, 20:23

that's the one I got :-)

It's the best USB Hub I've found so far (and I've tried a few) you are still going to get a data bottle neck when you have 10 devices sharing a single connection to the PC, I find there is too much data flowing for the available USB bandwidth, hence the frame rates aren't great, but it does the job and better than the 2x 7 port 4a Belkin hubs I had previously.

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
https://fipgauges.com

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 5119
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by c0nnex » 11 Dec 2018, 20:45

Well easy to do the math.
Great FIp Firmware expects the image as 24bit 320x240 BMP => EVERY single fip update consumes 230k + 1k overhead traffic
Assuiming you run at 10fps with 10 fips , this will make 10x10x230k = 23mb/sec that's too much for one usb stream/port

jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 22:28

That is why those big hubs have dual uplink ports...........

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1743
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by thedazman » 11 Dec 2018, 22:30

This is why I only run 5 FIPs on one port and six on the other. I was wondering if there is still a bottle neck in the USB bus on the motherboard, while I have two USB connections to the hub I can’t help but think the PC is still bottle necking the data

I Believe this 20 port hub is actually 4 little hubs internally, two sharing each USB port. It’s a great bit of kit and with 20amps of internal power it’s almost perfect for the job.

I also thought adding USB ports to the PC would be no different to adding external ones if the PC usb bus is the ultimate bottle neck?

Shame the FIP’s don’t support USB 3 would love to get a bit of extra bandwidth. I can’t think of a better way to get 12 FIPs and all the Saitek panels, a MCP and 3 bodnar boards all working at speed. I guess i’m Pushing my luck

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
https://fipgauges.com

jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 22:32

I haven't noticed any lag in the FIPS but I only have 9 and boosting rendering on the CPU which I assume would eat even more.......But if I had you can look in device manager at which one of the hubs in the switch they are connected to and "spread the wealth" over the two uplink connections.......

jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 22:34

LOL Ok post delay..........I run all nine of mine on one uplink and haven't noticed an issue.........it may actually be in your MOBO.......Mine has a ton of ports on separate controllers......It may have them all tied to one controller in yours........

jdavidpugh
Flight Attendant
Posts: 47
Joined: 12 Sep 2018, 02:11
Status: Offline

Re: FIPs lagging Virtual Cockpi Instruments

Post by jdavidpugh » 11 Dec 2018, 22:38

Im running on an old Crosshair IV MOBO with an AMD 1100T for now until I get the new Threadripper built! :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4iq5NQtfNQ

But I am doing the 2990WX 32 Core :D

Locked