How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Discussion about special hardware
Post Reply
Robs
Flight Attendant
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Mar 2018, 20:16
Status: Offline

How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by Robs » 04 Jun 2019, 14:01

Hello Spadders in the expert Hardware section!

I have an issue.
It seems to be linked to Spad.Next
I use FSX and win7 64bit

I have a BU0386 I use for extra axis/buttons.
Sometime when I launch the sim then FSX will enable the BU0386 and assign new buttons and axis to things I didn't want.
When I disable it's fine but dont want to have to do this every flight.
Saving the flight with controller disabled and launching again doesn't seem to do it.

Launching FSX without Spad.Next however and the controller remains disabled.

So there seems to be (not thoroughly tested) an association with Spad Next

Can anyone confirm?
Can anyone supply the magic bullet?
Can anyone point me in the right direction of solution or debugging?

Thanks in advance.

Rob.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by thedazman » 09 Jun 2019, 01:27

This has nothing to do with SPAD. FSX automatically assigns functions to buttons and axis on any new controller added to your system. You need to remove the associations in FSX

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

Robs
Flight Attendant
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Mar 2018, 20:16
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by Robs » 11 Jun 2019, 14:20

Daz,

I have removed all axis and button associations and unenabled applied and closed FSX.
If I launch FSX w/o simconnect then the BU0386 doesn't re-enable
If I then launch FSX with simconnect the BU0386 then re-enables

Does SpadNext do anything with the controls.xml and current.xml?
I am wondering if corrupt and if I should disable and let FSX reinitialise.

Ideas?

Rob

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4867
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by c0nnex » 11 Jun 2019, 15:46

SPAD.neXt does not touch fsx at all.

FSX will auto-reassign buttons to joysticks if it "thinks" a new one got attached. This happens e.g. if you switch usb ports and sometimes if there is Windows update.

Robs
Flight Attendant
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Mar 2018, 20:16
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by Robs » 14 Jun 2019, 01:40

USB hubs etc are stable and no updates interfering.
When I launch FSX independently the controller stays unenabled but if I use spad.next it enables every time....

I do not understand either.
Maybe it's simstarter or an addon.

How do you permanently stop a controller from enabling? Is there a way? Its getting annoying now!

lesoreilly
Captain
Posts: 188
Joined: 31 Jul 2015, 01:07
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by lesoreilly » 14 Jun 2019, 01:44

P3D allows you to just disable controllers....That is another reason to upgrade to P3D

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by thedazman » 15 Jun 2019, 01:36

If you unassign each axis and button in FSX and leave enabled in you shouldn’t have any further issues.

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

Robs
Flight Attendant
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Mar 2018, 20:16
Status: Offline

Re: How do you keep a controller unenabled?

Post by Robs » 17 Jun 2019, 18:20

Les,
FSX allows you to disable controllers too! Just my install is not working and I can't figure out why!

Daz,
Yes by unassigning every axis and button and leaving enabled I shouldn't have an issue but I do.

On fsx launch with spad next it puts on full throttle. When I unassign the throttle is then controllable.
It does this on every profile and so I don't think it is a corrupt profile.
There is no driver to uninstall or reinstall for this h/w
If I then shut down and launch then the controller is enabled again and full throttle applied.

Post Reply