SPAD.neXt 0.9.6.50 has been released to public

USB 2 ports

Discussion about special hardware
fsx1962
Flight Attendant
Posts: 33
Joined: 04 Nov 2016, 20:34
Location: East Coast USA
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by fsx1962 » 18 Mar 2019, 01:49

Thanks for the explanation... I did not know there was such an animal as a USB2 Hub that was USB-3 compatible. I figured USB3 was always compatible to USB2. Again, OM thanks...
Looks like if I get a new motherboard that does not have USB-2 ports on it I have to get an add on card. Funny, the reason i drop FSX was because I got tired of tiring to make a modern day system work with 20 year old SW. Now, I need to get 20 year old hardware to put in a new system so it can support 20 year old add on's.

User avatar
Steve Horsfall
Flight Attendant
Posts: 30
Joined: 21 Mar 2018, 02:11
Location: Macksville near YNHS,Australia
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by Steve Horsfall » 18 Mar 2019, 05:13

Thanks cOnnex, managed to get the PC running with "Last Known Good Configuration (advanced) "still would not boot in "Safe Mode".
I am running Win7 because FSX kept crashing under Win 10.
The present problem was found in Device Manager where one of the USB Root Hubs showed an exclamation mark. This was disabled and the PC booted up as normal ( before the USB3 experiment). The Sim is back as it was with all devices returned to USB2. All is good in the AIR and on RAILs :D
Still wonder why the Yoke upset the PC and and non of the devices did :?

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by thedazman » 18 Mar 2019, 22:27

Thanks for the info, that's really insightful

That was good guess when I said the FIP firmware is 10 years old.

So the question is when you going to write new firmware for the FIP and make them USB3 compatible :-)

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4820
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by c0nnex » 19 Mar 2019, 02:29

Haha. On one point i was about to write a plugin for the firmware (which is possible), but dropped it because it's too much of a hassle, becasue the system is so old. Imagine a fip dies, everyone will blame it to my plugin.

Basically an USB3-Upgrade for the FIP would need a Hardware redesign/change. Doubt that's anywhere on logitech's todo list.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by thedazman » 19 Mar 2019, 15:08

I would love a usb3 fip it would be awesome.

With a minimum 640x480 display 30-60fps.

But you are right it probably will never happen, god the gauges look like something from a commodore amiga still

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
Oz Flyer
Betatester
Posts: 630
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 10:10
Location: YMMB, Melbourne, Australia
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by Oz Flyer » 20 Mar 2019, 08:32

Hi Ulrich,
Some time ago you where looking into an Arduino based replacement, Is this still on one of your todo lists?

I hope it is.
David
OZ Flyer
Near YMMB
40+ year of Flight Siming.
subLOGIC/Microsoft Flight Sim/DTG, Microsoft Flight, DTG FSW.

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4820
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by c0nnex » 20 Mar 2019, 15:10

More or less. I'll provide an option in the upcoming Arduino/Serial support to send fip images to it at a given rate/fps. I''ll not get into the hardware side.
I *might* provide an arduino compatible fip implementation at some point (So you can have the actual image calcs be done on the arduino), but that not really a focus right now.

User avatar
Oz Flyer
Betatester
Posts: 630
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 10:10
Location: YMMB, Melbourne, Australia
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by Oz Flyer » 20 Mar 2019, 20:55

Not knowing the cost of FIP's in Euro's, I do not know if 160 Euro's is a lot but $250+ for a FIP in AU is so an Arduino compatible FIP implementation will be welcome with open arms.
David
OZ Flyer
Near YMMB
40+ year of Flight Siming.
subLOGIC/Microsoft Flight Sim/DTG, Microsoft Flight, DTG FSW.

User avatar
c0nnex
Site Admin
Posts: 4820
Joined: 10 Mar 2015, 21:52
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by c0nnex » 20 Mar 2019, 23:49

150 Euros is a lot ... (Specially for a dynamic pictureframe, nothing else is a fip)

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1652
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: USB 2 ports

Post by thedazman » 21 Mar 2019, 17:46

Yeah but it’s a convenient little device, modular and ready to go, sure you can build one for a fraction of the price. I just don’t know if I would.

Having a 3D printer now does make it more feasible for me now but still not sure I would want to make 12 of them. As outdated as fips are there is still the plug and play aspect you just can’t replace right now

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

Post Reply