FIP's Warning.

Discussion about special hardware
Borisup
Passenger
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Aug 2017, 19:51
Location: Surrey, England
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by Borisup » 17 Jun 2018, 16:41

I also have dial knob breaks so when you make some replacements let us know and add them to your shop.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by thedazman » 20 Jun 2018, 22:57

Would be a bit difficult to download a knob and I’m definitely not getting into international postage.

I’ve just bought a 3D printer and currently designing larger replacement knobs but the encoder post is so small I’m not sure i’ll Get the resolution on my cheap printer

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
Oz Flyer
Betatester
Posts: 673
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 10:10
Location: YMMB, Melbourne, Australia
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by Oz Flyer » 22 Jun 2018, 09:35

Hi Daz,
What software are you using?
I am using Autodesk Fusion 360 (Free)
David
OZ Flyer
Near YMMB
40+ year of Flight Siming.
subLOGIC/Microsoft Flight Sim/DTG, Microsoft Flight, DTG FSW.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by thedazman » 27 Jun 2018, 14:06

I'm using Windows 3D builder and Photoshop3D to create my model files and Cura to slice them. I'm still playing with settings, but to print a 1.5 mm hex isn't working out too well. I might just do it as a spike and heat the spike and push it in to shape it's self. Need to slow the print right down for the small layers.

I'm planning on producing a dial overlay for the other non broken dials so they are all the same without having to replace all the dials.

I've had good results using a metal spike, like a rivet and shape that on a grinder to fix the hex slot of the rotary encoder and I can then make a dial to fit over that.

I've spent the last 2 weeks printing upgrades for the printer and haven't got into fine tuning yet ready for producing dials.

Daz
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by thedazman » 15 Jul 2018, 17:26

I've now printed 22 replacement knobs for my 12 FIP's and deliberately printed them much bigger and knurled. Soooooo much better to use.

I also printed a replacement Gear leaver for my multipanel proper 737 gear leaver and literally fitted inside where the old one came out. Looks awesome
IMG_0297.jpg
IMG_0290.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

User avatar
Oz Flyer
Betatester
Posts: 673
Joined: 23 Sep 2015, 10:10
Location: YMMB, Melbourne, Australia
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by Oz Flyer » 17 Jul 2018, 00:01

Hi Daz,
Looks good how about a photo of the new FIP's knobs.
David
OZ Flyer
Near YMMB
40+ year of Flight Siming.
subLOGIC/Microsoft Flight Sim/DTG, Microsoft Flight, DTG FSW.

User avatar
thedazman
Betatester
Posts: 1657
Joined: 28 Mar 2015, 10:47
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:
Status: Offline

Re: FIP's Warning.

Post by thedazman » 17 Jul 2018, 21:48

I thought I had attached it, but it obviously dropped the picture when posting....

excuse the dusty screens...
IMG_0297.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"theDAZman" aka "theGFXguy"
Image
http://www.fipgauges.com

Post Reply